Barbirolli international oboe festival

Lady Evelyn Barbirolli OBE

Barbirolli International Oboe Festival & Competition

Founded in 1993 by the late Evelyn Barbirolli, an outstanding oboist, this is an event of exceptional quality which stands as a lasting memorial to her. The festival, now based in the Erin Arts Centre, has attracted competitors from as far away as Australia, China and the United States. The 5th Barbirolli Festival will be held from March 28th to April 4th 2020.

President / Artistic Advisor:
Professor George Caird

Daniel Barenboim
Sir Mark Elder CBE
Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood
Professor Colin Lawson
Raymond Leppard CBE
Professor Linda Merrick
Sir Simon Rattle CBE OM

Director: John Bethell MBE DMus (Hon) Hon RNCM
Administrator: Jonathan Griffiths

Previous Patrons include Sir Charles Mackerras, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies CBE CH, Sir Patrick Moore, Sir Michael Neubert and Andrew Lloyd Webber

The 2020 Jury will be:
George Caird (UK) (Chairman)
John Anderson (UK)
Nora Cismondi (France)
Christian Schmitt (France)

The week will include masterclasses, recitals and lectures. Artists attending are Martin Butler, Caroline Dowdle, David Smith, Daniel Swain, the Barbirolli Trio and Howarth of London.

Applications for competitors will open later this year. Full information is available by clicking the links below. Entry forms will be available on 1st September. Further information from the Erin Arts Centre
First prize is £4,000 and a London recital; second prize is £2,000; third prize is £1,000. There will be other subsidiary prizes.

Please note that the set piece has not yet been published. Details will be provided here as soon as the publisher is known.

Competition Booklet

The competition is administered by the Erin Arts Centre with funds provided by:
Hugh & Sandra Davidson
Jim Mellon
The Isle of Man Arts Council

and in association with

2017 Festival

First prize was awarded to Ilyes Boufadden-Adloff from France.

Second prize was awarded to Rafael Sousa from Portugal

Third prize was awarded to Andreas Oeste from the USA.

2014 Festival

The 2014 Oboe competiton was held in March 2014.

First prize, the Evelyn Rothwell Memorial Prize of £4,000 donated by Jim Mellon, went to Hannah Morgan who studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London.

Second prize, the Neil Black Prize of £2,000 donated anonymously, was awarded to Samuel Bastos (Portugal).

Third prize, the Jim Mellon Prize of £1,000 to Nermis Meises (America).

Click here to read the official press release with photos.

The set piece was Dürer Portrait by Judith Bingham


Phone: +44(0) 1624 835858


Top of the pageTop

Isle of Man Arts Council Member of the British Arts Festivals Association

Erin Arts Centre

President: Raymond Leppard CBE

Member of BFFS
Erin Arts Centre
Erin Arts Centre